Skip to content

Down with Excuses, Day 5

January 23, 2010

To join Equity or not to join Equity… that was the question. Actors debate this question constantly if they have a way into the actors’ union without racking up all of the points generally required, gained by acting in eligible shows. The dilemma of course presents itself because it’s embarrassing to show up to an Equity-level audition only to be then questioned about one’s theatrical experience.

Fortunately, I fall into the category of Equity eligible because I have good standing in AGMA, their sister union for opera and other musical endeavors. Because of this, I also can join SAG in the future. Joining a union costs money (much more, in the case of SAG). In addition, while I have had considerable acting training, I have far more tangible experience in opera than in straight acting. Perhaps it would be better to start with non-union houses to get an easier start.

Oh excuses, I have fallen for you, but now we must part! Otherwise my life will amount to little but filler and unfulfilled dreams. It’s time to turn my fledgling blog into much more than fitness, networking, and conquering common fears. I called both unions today and began the process of joining Equity. Once I complete the application and receive my temporary card, I can attend countless auditions, just by showing up early. I guess I’d better prepare some monologues and musical theater songs and start going to bed early! So it begins…

3 Comments leave one →
  1. January 25, 2010 10:54 pm

    I’m so on this road myself. I am teetering on the fence between trying to gain experience with non-equity, but at the same time wanting to take the next step.

    • January 25, 2010 11:29 pm

      Yeah, for me it’s just another reason to procrastinate, but I know it can be a tough decision, especially in a smaller region like Philadelphia. Keep me posted! I’ll let you know how it goes! 🙂

Trackbacks

  1. Three-year-old Wisdom, Day 7 « Skydiving for Pearls

Leave a Reply

