Skip to content

Backlogs, Day 29

February 26, 2010

Backlogs.  We all have them.  Some of mine are still waiting for me on my bed to enter their resting place before I can enter mine.  As I finished the first of my due dates (a rather simple one to start), I began the process of planning one I had set for next week – learning five new monologues.  After reading several sources about acquiring monologues, I realized that I have a lot of catching up to do.  I almost never read plays, but I don’t believe an actor can have this luxuriously lazy attitude toward her genre and still improve and work regularly.  Obviously, I need to tweak my process, pick up some plays, start reading (turn off! the television), and rethink this specific due date and how best to achieve my goal.

In the meantime, I decided to do some further work on songbook choices.  Feeling as though my voice should rest another day before getting back into a practice routine after a week of illness, I instead took a look at what I already have.  Well, that too will take some serious work and time on my part, just to get through the backlog of songs and arias and oratorios I have yet to file from this audition or that performance, many of which sit on my bed as I type.  In short, as with everything in life, sometimes I have to clean up my messes before I can move forward successfully and with a clear mind.

My major challenges of the day?  Admitting I still have a television addiction problem that must stop, trudging through a mess of sleet and snow to get to the gym, and reminding myself the hard way that eating at regular intervals really would help me continue to heal and do all the work set out before me – literally.  Overall though, I worked out hard, read, watched Kim Yu-Na breathtakingly win the gold medal, and filed and filed and shredded and filed.  I really do want this blog to reflect an active, exciting, challenging life.  While sometimes it already does just that, I acknowledge that on days like today, I have some tedium to wade through before I can swim the big races successfully.  In the meantime, does anyone know any must-read plays?  It’s time to get to work!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

