Skip to content

Mom, Day 30

February 27, 2010

What I didn’t want to do today?  Function, at all, that is after hearing about my wonderful mother’s grand mal seizure today.  Knowing she subscribes to this blog, I of course will try not to get too melodramatic, but I will say that she is one of the best human beings I know.  Two years ago, she found out she has a brain tumor and that following summer, she had surgery to have most of it removed.  Although the doctors deemed the surgery a success, she still experiences nausea and headaches every few weeks, struggles with occasional double vision, and deals with regular fatigue.

Most people would have worried about the slight possibility of cancer more than any other potential concern.  Since my ex-husband had residual (though not grand mal) seizures periodically after having his brain tumor removed in 1986, I feared more than anything that one of my closest friends, aka my mother, might have to deal with that consequence whether or not she actually had surgery.  Most inhibiting, the anti-seizure medications have too many exhausting side effects, and I honestly and personally have no interest in even imagining that my mother might have to suffer a seizure or its effects ever again.

Fortunately, she’s home now and resting, with my father at her side to care for her over the weekend.  She sounds much better and seems hopeful that it might never recur, and the staff at Kennedy Hospital in Cherry Hill think it might have resulted from a slight potassium deficiency.  If a slight deficiency of anything causes seizures, I might just upgrade my multivitamin as soon as humanly possible.  Seriously, my mother will call her neurologist, Dr. Grady, at the University of Pennsylvania tomorrow if she hasn’t already, and hopefully they’ll meet soon to get a more complete picture of what might have triggered the seizure.

For those of you who follow me on Facebook and sent us your kind prayers and wishes, thank you.  When I try to explain the beauty that is my mother, I usually tell the story of how she came inside from picking a wild rose and said, “How could anyone not believe in God when they see something so beautiful?”  I felt the same way today, coming home from trying to work off my worries at the gym to a get well card, sent by my mother to say she hoped I would feel better soon from my cold.  I couldn’t have a better mother, and I hope she knows just how much she means to me.

One Comment leave one →
  1. March 3, 2010 11:24 pm

    I’m sorry to hear this. I struggle with my mom getting older. We are very close too. I always tell her that I can’t imagine her not being on the planet.

Leave a Reply

