Skip to content

All The Things I Don’t Know, Day 37

March 11, 2010

“My life is a triumph of all the things I don’t know.”  Doubtless my favorite line from John Guare’s Landscape of the Body, it typifies my life in more ways than I can recount.  Including past, present and future uncertainties, large and significant or tiny and trivial, I feel as though I know very little.  Rather than depressing or overwhelming me, realizing how much I have to learn about sailing actually invigorated me at tonight’s Gotham City Sailing Association meetup at City Island Yacht Club.

Surrounded by dozens of sailors and sailing enthusiasts at the Sail Trim/Tactics seminar, I wondered why I haven’t done this sooner.  Taught by Kerry Klinger of UK-Halsey sails, most of the content sailed right over my head as he discussed keeping one’s tell-tales even and adjusting the uppers, intermediates and lowers.  Most of the attendees had raced or will in the future and although the meetup group advertised this free discussion as a beginner to advanced session, I learned a lot more about how much I need to learn and why sailing must be studied if practiced than any terms or technique.  Having spent decades around and on sailboats with my family, I have no excuse to avoid learning how to sail, and for the first time in my life, I look forward to it.

Many thanks also to my friend Suzanne Schwing who, after driving and attending the seminar with me, brought me to dinner to meet a good friend of hers and reminded me that I have much more to learn about opera administration and all of the many ins and outs of the business side of our field.  Another amazing friend, Cassandra Sobkiw Kurtz, stayed up late with me like old times, chatting about life and giving me advice to think about for all of the other areas in my life that can feel so confusing.  I may know very little in the scope of the universe, but I do know that life has so many exciting and wonderful things to see and experience, including my wonderful friends and family and all the ways they share their lives and love with me.

One Comment leave one →
  1. March 15, 2010 6:19 am

    Sailing is like my life. The more I learn, the more I can point in the right direction and cut the waters with puposeful pursuit. I’m finally sailing now instead of going in circles.

Leave a Reply

