Skip to content

Seeing Stars, Day 81

May 14, 2010

I feel as if I haven’t stopped for more than a long nap and a couple of meals since last night’s recital and intend to remedy that in a few short minutes with a very long sleep and a more hermit-like existence before tomorrow’s dress rehearsal.  Today, I performed the Habañera from Bizet’s Carmen to a very appreciative and fun audience at the Columbia Center Rotary.  So far, I have a perfect record on standing ovations out here – did I mention how much I like the people in the Tri-Cities region?  I spent some time having coffee and chatting with one of the rotary members before our first afternoon rehearsal with the tenor and bass soloists and then attempted a dinner with the soprano soloist and her mother and my friend Justin and his father afterwards.  Of course, all of this culminated in far more talking than eating, so I have a lot less talking and much more food on the docket for tomorrow.

Finally, we had our first rehearsal onstage with the orchestra and choir tonight, and I can honestly say that the Mid-Columbia Mastersingers have thoroughly impressed me in their preparation, tuning, and spirit.  Of course, I forget that the talents of a chorus master like Justin Raffa go such a long way when applied to a community of smart and down-to earth individuals like these.  For a supplemented and fully-volunteer choir, they have a well-blended and remarkable sound, and I look forward to singing with them on Saturday.  Of course, tonight’s rehearsal had many technical difficulties that require ironing out, and I felt myself having to tape my mouth shut and sit on my hands to patiently allow the people in charge to handle the issues they deal with so well on a regular basis.  Hopefully my fatigue didn’t override my sensibilities, though I definitely struggled to keep my energy high and positive.  Perhaps next time I will learn to replace the afternoon coffee conversation with a nap alone.

After the rehearsal, I did manage to come to my senses and continue with my original plan to go stargazing instead of attending a party with one of the incredibly fun and gracious board members.  Although a little networking and hanging out never hurts, my voice enjoyed the trip to the desolate Coffin Road far more than it would have a noisy wine-enhanced gathering.  Led by Roy Gephart, a local scientist and astronomer and the husband of our accompanist Sheila, we traveled to a beautiful and quiet country road to enjoy the night sky and see some old and new constellations.  Since I usually use some kind of dark sky finder to hunt for dark skies on vacations, this fantastic astronomy lesson made my night, despite my exhaustion.  We saw some meteors and several satellites, all while hunting the night for some pictures of gods, animals, and zodiac signs.  Not a bad end to my day.  Now to bed – the best part of it all.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. May 15, 2010 6:57 am

    Just want to say what a great blog you got here!
    I’ve been around for quite a lot of time, but finally decided to show my appreciation of your work!

    Thumbs up, and keep it going!

    Cheers
    Christian

Trackbacks

  1. Star-Hunting off the Grid, Day 140 « Skydiving for Pearls

Leave a Reply

