Skip to content

Sondheim While You Can, Day 101

June 18, 2010

My incredibly good fortune tonight confuses me.  How could I get rush tickets so easily to Sondheim on Sondheim, a musical revue getting great reviews, two related Tony nominations, and two well-earned Drama Desk Awards for Outstanding Musical Review and Best Musical?  With a balcony not even half-filled, I have to wonder if everyone knows what they soon will miss!

Sondheim on Sondheim

Photo by Joan Marcus

Sondheim on Sondheim‘s final showing at Studio 54 occurs on June 27 – yes, a week from Sunday.  I repeat, they have only ten shows remaining.  Alternating live musical numbers with projections of interviews with Sondheim himself both past and present, this production provides a stunning glimpse into the life and music of this octogenarian genius.  Sondheim lovers should kick themselves for staying home.  Perry and I both love Stephen Sondheim but enjoyed several songs we had not yet heard, laughed, cried, and learned far more than we expected in a thoroughly entertaining performance.

With countless reviews available in favor, against, and with mixed opinions, I can only say that you should not miss Barbara Cook and Norm Lewis especially, who gave some of the most moving performances I’ve ever seen in a revue.  Vanessa Williams and the rest of this tight ensemble cast truly delighted my evening, and I do hope you go, decide for yourself, and report back here.  I imagine you, like us, may find the $21.50 rush tickets your best investment this week.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

