Skip to content

Learning to Behave, Day 139

November 8, 2010

You know that point at which, if you don’t stop to take a break, your body decides to do something about it? Well, I’ve hit my breaking point officially as of yesterday morning. Somewhere between rehearsing, learning music, updating my website, and – quite frankly – playing as hard as working, my body has had enough of my shenanigans. After an incredible weekend with some amazing people, including some time spent Saturday outside helping to paint a set, I woke up on Sunday an hour before my alarm should have woken me to volunteer on the local Badger Mountain and do some trail work.

Not feeling terrific the night before, I went home early from Ice Harbor Brewery, did a little work on my computer, and set my alarms after checking the cold and somewhat rainy weather forecast for the morning and laying out some warmer options for outdoor work. At 7am, my sore throat and sweating body informed me that it had different plans and that I ought to call the head of the Friends of Badger Mountain association to apologize but would stay in and rest. After a little Nyquil, I settled in for a full day’s rest/coma.

A day later after much Zicam, superfood, Tylenol Severe Cold & Flu, fluids, and rest, I still had no choice but to suck it up and see a doctor. Diagnosis? Cold virus likely, but stop the Tylenol after rehearsal and check for a fever in the morning. Yay. I suppose eventually I have to face my humanity, after a fairly good run of health for quite some time. Truthfully, I know that my mother’s advice holds true in any state or season of my life. Some people function brilliantly on only a few hours of sleep per night, and I have never been one of them; however, if I insist on plenty of rest, I inevitably stay healthy.

Sounds easy enough, right? Here, in no particular order, are my current top five excuses for not sleeping enough:

  • I get more done at night when everyone’s asleep on the weeknights
  • If my friends are out partying, I should be too!
  • Only one more month in the Tri-Cities – I’ve got to enjoy my friends here while I can
  • Between my website, blog, audio and video samples, resume and bio, Facebook and Twitter accounts, new Flickr account, and youtube channel, I perpetually have something to update online
  • In order to get good rest, that means I have to sleep alone. When out with friends, working online, or watching TV, I get to forget any loneliness I might feel crawling into bed each night

Some of those excuses carry more weight and perhaps familiarity for others who might have the same tendencies in life. Regardless of the validity, I want to eradicate these feeble attempts at distracting myself from reality in all parts of my life. So easily I busy myself with other activities under the same guise of wanting to embrace life, but at some point, I have to find a way to consistently follow my own advice across the board and not just in the more exciting or convenient ways. So after tonight’s rehearsal, I will come straight home and go to bed early and alone. Hopefully my body will thank me for it in the morning.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. mugdiller permalink
    November 8, 2010 8:28 pm

    love reading abby, take care of yourself damnit….I’m sure I might be way more guilty of the party side and def not the activity side you’ve got going. BUT, even I have to step back at least once every week (usually sunday) and slow down for a day. I’m a workoholic also, and as I said the party side is nutts…but you gotta take it in stride and know the limits 🙂

    catch me on a week off from work….there are no limits :))))

    take care babe,
    doug (mug)

  2. nighfall2021 permalink
    November 9, 2010 3:12 am

    You had better get your rest. I have been to the breaking point before, and its never fun.

    • November 9, 2010 3:27 am

      Thanks for this! I got caught up in a website update and forgot the time… taking my maladjusted self to bed now.

Leave a Reply

