Skip to content

Making Musical History

November 15, 2010

American Lyric Theater

So you want to write music? Count yourself amongst a small population of confident and brilliant people who can craft beauty via the mind. Personally, I’ve tried writing songs to no avail, and my only compositional success came from a perfect score on a Bach-inspired invention I wrote for a theory course in college. Try writing a just a song sometime – not so simple. Of all of the gifts in my life, I consider myself so fortunate to know and have known so many talented composers, from song writers to choral writers to opera composers. They infuse our culture and our history with their intellectual, spiritual, and emotional contributions, and we do ourselves a great service by supporting them to continue their efforts.

Thanks to American Lyric Theater, budding opera composers have a friend and ally in their Composer Librettist Development Program. A tuition free, full time training program for composers and librettists, ALT offers an opportunity for talented musicians to find quality mentors to aid them in their journeys as writers. Although they accept new applications in the spring, current and future students can now benefit from funds raised by this month’s online auction. Want to help? Bid today through November 30 on any one of seventeen items available from tickets to vacations to chocolate. All proceeds benefit current and upcoming students and future composers. I for one can’t wait to hear the results sometime, perhaps at a new opera by American Lyric Theater!

One Comment leave one →
  1. November 24, 2010 12:28 pm

    Hey there!

    New fan, via Elliot. You have a fantastic blog here!

    I’m a political organizer who’s looking to transition into writing. That’s my blog up there, I’d obviously be honored if you wanted to take a look. But I just wanted to throw in my two cents that I cannot come up with three original notes in my head to save my life, despite playing a couple of instruments.

    My dad is a pretty fantastic classical musician, studied at IU Bloomington, Queens College, even briefly with Dorothy DeLay. Mad respect for your artistic talents and endeavours!

    Oh, and let’s throw the final coincidence card out on the table… I worked Tri-Cities during the Obama primary. Love that area! We kicked ass… hee hee 😉

    Break a leg and keep up the great blogging!

Leave a Reply

