Skip to content

A Wet Blanket Approach, Day 143

December 2, 2010

As the snow continues to fall in Tri-Cities, Washington (and apparently on WordPress!), gigs and upcoming events pour into my inbox, voicemail, and facebook request list to keep me busy upon return to the city with no time for rest and recovery. With several nonstop weeks of rehearsals, shows, and performances in Richland and Kennewick, I have truly enjoyed my time here and all of the friends and work that have resulted from this trip. Thanks to my dear friend Justin Raffa and all of the connections made, I’ve performed musical theater, a Christmas concert, appeared on television and the front page of the local Tri-City Herald, and look forward to singing as the mezzo soprano soloist for this Friday’s concert of Handel’s Messiah, parts one, two, and three.

Of course, I’ve also had the opportunity to return the favor here and there, conducting part of a chorus rehearsal, waking up for a 5:30am call, shoveling a driveway, and buying a present or two. While I have benefited far more than given, I still find myself feeling a little overwhelmed from time to time trying to live life saying “yes” as often as possible. Occasionally, I have learned things the hard way and this time around, I’ve worked very hard to position myself for success and not an early burial in busyness.

The uncomfortable challenge for today? Saying no. With so many upcoming gigs and the need for a healthy voice and mind to perform at the top of my game, I decided today to sleep in, cancel two scheduled lunches, and abandon the idea of partying hard Sunday night before traveling home first to Philadelphia on Monday and then New York on Tuesday. Does this mean I may miss the opportunity to say goodbye to some incredible people before leaving town? Yes, probably. Unfortunately, I have to play the role of the wet blanket here and there, but hopefully it makes all the difference when I play the roles assigned to me as an artist when I take the stage Friday for the Messiah and again in New York and New Jersey the moment I return to town. Besides, if I sing well now, hopefully I’ll then have the chance to return to do it yet again so that “goodbye” becomes “see you again soon.” Fingers crossed.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Debbie permalink
    December 2, 2010 11:05 pm

    I figure that you will be very busy in the few days you have left here, but it was a great pleasure working with you in the show. I will be following your career (in a non-stalkerish way, trust me!) with great interest, and I wish you every success in the future!

    Your fellow scifi geek,
    Deb.

    • December 3, 2010 4:11 am

      Thanks, Deb, you too! Hope to see you again soon – perhaps at the Messiah? If not, hope to be back soon!

  2. Earl permalink
    December 3, 2010 12:03 pm

    Abby, dear lady, don’t try to be everything to everyone. Remember, there is but only one of you…not 3 or 4. A day or more off with rest is NOT a cost, it is an INVESTMENT. Remember, we need you because we love you.

    I know you will do exceptionally well again tonight.

    God bless.

Leave a Reply

