Skip to content

Tableau Slideshow Saturday ~ 176

February 25, 2011

Inhale, exhale, rinse, repeat. A fantastically busy week deserves at least an update. At least four posts to come include a great concert in which I sang on Valentine’s Day for the Cornelia Street Café, my first scuba diving class with Pan Aqua, a second StripXpertease class (this time an unbelievably challenging exercise class in heels – read about the first class here), and a concert I attended by Roomful of Teeth. I already know I have to use the word “badass” in my review of that night of singers and composers who perform fearlessly. Such an inspiration!

In the meantime, thanks to The Opera Insider for giving me the chance to attend and review an inspiring concert at Carnegie Hall last week! My friend Suzanne Schwing and I enjoyed excellent seats for Natalie Mann and Jeffrey Panko‘s recital at Weill Hall, and The Opera Insider has posted my review on their blog and Facebook page! Although I still have no news regarding my article on Sarah Small‘s Tableau Vivant, I hope to publish it here, if it doesn’t find a home elsewhere soon.

Because of a weekend packed with rehearsals for our upcoming puppet opera, Don Cristòbal, and next Wednesday’s performance of L’Africaine at Avery Fisher Hall, I’ll have to miss a fun event featuring Sarah Small and Tableau. In Brooklyn on Saturday at 7:30pm, 3rd Ward will host a slideshow, live bluegrass music, and a chili cookoff with beer from Brooklyn Brewery. Yum. Although the festivities start at 7:30, the slideshow itself starts around 9pm and features thirty images from our last Tableau Vivant at BathHouse Studios and a movie clip from the event. This short clip reveals the previously undisclosed location for Sarah’s largest Tableau Vivant in May, with one hundred twenty models in total.

Rehearsal Photo from BathHouse Studios Tableau Vivant

Rehearsal Photo by Glen Glasser

If you have the opportunity to venture to 3rd Ward for Saturday’s event, you’ll see work from at least twenty-five other artists now listed on the Facebook Event Page. Wishing I could join the celebration, I may have to live vicariously through anyone else who can attend. Please let us know here if you have the chance to experience it yourself. With so many great experiences for myself this month, I look forward to whatever comes this weekend and wish Sarah Small a successful slideshow and some excellent chili!

Sideluck Bushwick

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

