Skip to content

A Night at the Museum

March 16, 2011

Times in my life quite like the present don’t present themselves terribly often. Never before have I had so many varied jobs and gigs at once. Within the coming month, I rehearse and perform an intensely musical puppet play, prepare and perform April in Paris (my French-themed recital featuring Eugene Sirotkine and Benjamin C.S. Boyle), rehearse new music written by Sarah Small for our Tableau Vivant and a music video, and begin rehearsals at the Metropolitan Opera to revive our production of Orfeo ed Euridice with Mark Morris.

Meanwhile, because many of these gigs still leave me mostly unemployed, I’ve taken a side job or two in art modeling, in focus groups, and with the charity auction ibidmobile team mentioned in last week’s post. With little money and only two fully open spaces on my calendar between now and April 25, every second, penny, and friendly face feels almost painfully precious. Given the recent news of earthquakes, tsunamis, radiation leaks, and explosions, all from one unexpected event, perhaps I ought to continue this attitude throughout and beyond each of my busy days.

Last evening, I had the chance to earn a little money again with ibidmobile, a somewhat tiring but important job helping to facilitate silent auctions for charities. Five hours on my feet with an ipad, talking over music and hundreds of guests? Not a situation I generally would seek out as a singer who needs to rehearse in the morning. I could have grumbled about at least a handful or two of things, as any work provides such an obviously tempting atmosphere for complaints. I may have even heard one or two from other employees in passing.

Instead of joining in, something came over me tonight in a very exciting way that required no alcohol whatsoever, and I hope to take it from last night into each of my every endeavors this month. No, at last evening’s Nightingale-Bamford School charity event, I chatted with friends about fun auction items near NCG 1350 and the Andromeda Galaxy at the American Museum of Natural History while waiting for the guests to arrive. I helped at least a few people win their coveted experiences, wines, and lunches, ran into a friend who works at the school, and met a drummer interested in hearing me sing for his world music group. When for a brief moment signal interference paused the auction, we danced with incredibly fun and generous guests under the blue whale. At the end of definitely my favorite of these events thus far, a great girls’ school had raised a very significant amount of money for tuition and scholarships.

Tomorrow brings more recital rehearsal and an evening of running from a puppet with a club. I hope you’ll join me here and in person for the rest!

Soon = Wolfy’s Journey DVD Release
March 31 – April 10 = Don Cristóbal
April 16 = April in Paris, A Recital with Abigail Wright and Eugene Sirotkine/
(April 17 = Private Music Video Filming with Sarah Small)
(April 23 = High Fall Stunt Class)
April 29-May 14 = Orfeo ed Euridice
May 23, 24 TBA = Tableau Vivant at Skylight One Hanson
(June TBA = Skydiving trip #2 – join us!)
July 29-August 7 = Das Liebe der Danae

7 Comments leave one →
  1. nutanz permalink
    March 19, 2011 8:59 am

    Hi Abigail,

    Congrats on making the main Tableau event. Not that there was any doubt after your amazing performance. Thanks for the link to the preview movie. I hope Sarah posts a full version soon.

    Btw, you look amazing in the pic posted in the last post.

  2. Christine Castillo permalink
    March 24, 2011 8:42 am

    Abby, you are such an inspiration to me. I love reading about all the cool things you do. I wish I could come to your April in Paris recital, but here’s sending you good wishes that you have a splendid performance! I’m sure it will be lovely! Cheers! CC

    • March 24, 2011 8:19 pm

      Thank you, Christine! I appreciate the encouragement – sometimes life gets so hectic, I hardly get around to writing anymore! I’m happy to know you appreciate it and hope to post more soon! 🙂 Hope your singing and teaching are thriving in Maryland!

Trackbacks

  1. One-Year Membership and IMAX Tickets to the American Museum of Natural History. Two Options Available. | KomiDaily
  2. One-Year Membership and IMAX Tickets to American Museum of Natural History (Up to a $169 Value). Two Options Available. - Koream Deals
  3. Learning a Child’s Lesson from Little Miss Busy « Skydiving for Pearls

Leave a Reply

