Skip to content

Low Income, Lofty Goals

April 15, 2013

Today I wanted to share a truly valuable service my friend and colleague Chris Herbert seeks to offer to talented and underprivileged students, called Y-Apply. Here’s his pitch – check it out, and help out if you can.

For once I’m not writing to ask you to come to a concert I’m giving. Instead, I’m asking you to help me out with an Indiegogo campaign I’m part of. I’m on the board of a new non-profit organization called Y-Apply. Y-Apply educates high achieving public school students from diverse backgrounds and and their families about financial aid options and the application process to top-tier colleges and universities.

I went to Yale… and then went to Harvard. I loved my experience at both these elite institutions and I feel very fortunate to have benefited from the world-class education and life-long connections they afforded me. However, something was, and still is, lacking at these elite schools: diversity. Just last year, Yale announced that it is trailing in its own diversity goals. The New York Times echoed this two weeks ago with an article about the failure of top-tier colleges and universities to recruit low-income students. As a Yale alum, I want to see my alma mater become more ethnically and economically diverse. Only in this way can Yale and other leading colleges and universities continue to serve as beacons, attracting the brightest students and faculty around the world.

Y-Apply seeks to tackle this problem. Its workshops for high school juniors and their families provide the tools to help in the application and financial aid process. Y-Apply has a solid 5-year record of success, with scores of program participants from low-income and diverse backgrounds in 5 American cities gaining admission and financial aid to many of America’s top-tier colleges and universities.

In the past month, Y-Apply earned its official non-profit status from the IRS. This means it can accept tax-deductible contributions. To that end, the Board of Directors has set up an Indiegogo campaign to generate seed funding for Y-Apply’s upcoming workshops. Please consider making a donation no matter how small to support us in our efforts to help low-income and diverse students achieve their college dreams. Just click on the indiegogo image below to make your contribution.

Y-Apply Fundraising Campaign

Y-Apply Fundraising Campaign

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

